Rock Hill Schools’ director of exceptional student education Dr. Nancy Turner has been named the 2018 South Carolina Council of Administrators of Special Education administrator of the year.

Turner, who is in her third year in the district, oversees a staff of 300 teachers, therapists, employment specialists, and assistants committed to serving more than 2,500 students with special needs enrolled in various programs for students with disabilities throughout the district. She also collaborates with local organizations such as Catawba Mental Health, Rock Hill Vocational Rehabilitation, HeadStart, and other outside resources to assist students.

Over the past year, she has been instrumental in leading all schools in the district through a cultural change with an approach to classroom discipline and reinforcement known as PBIS, or Positive Behavior Intervention and Support. Through this approach, teachers are encouraged to accentuate the positive actions of students to minimize disruptions and loss of instructional time when students are removed from the classroom for discipline.

Prior to joining Rock Hill Schools in July 2015, Dr. Turner held similar positions in Cabarrus County, N.C., Union County, N.C., and Spartanburg, S.C.

About SC CASE:
The South Carolina Council of Administrators of Special Education is a state division of the Council of Administrators of Special Education (CASE), an international professional educational organization which is affiliated with the Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) whose members are dedicated to the enhancement of the worth, dignity, potential, and uniqueness of each individual in society. The Mission of the Council of Administrators of Special Education, Inc. is to provide leadership and support to members by shaping policies and practices which impact the quality of education.